Advanced Search ›
My Account
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Prokofiev, Sergei

Sergei Prokofiev

Sergei Sergeyevich Prokofiev was a Soviet composer, pianist and conductor. As the creator of acknowledged masterpieces across numerous musical genres, he is regarded as one of the major composers of the 20th century. His works include such widely heard works as the March from The Love for Three Oranges, the suite Lieutenant Kijé, the ballet Romeo and Juliet – from which "Dance of the Knights" is taken – and Peter and the Wolf. Of the established forms and genres in which he worked, he created – excluding juvenilia – seven completed operas, seven symphonies, eight ballets, five piano concertos, two violin concertos, a cello concerto, a Symphony-Concerto for cello and orchestra, and nine completed piano sonatas.

A graduate of the St Petersburg Conservatory, Prokofiev initially made his name as an iconoclastic composer-pianist, achieving notoriety with a series of ferociously dissonant and virtuosic works for his instrument, including his first two piano concertos. In 1915 Prokofiev made a decisive break from the standard composer-pianist category with his orchestral Scythian Suite, compiled from music originally composed for a ballet commissioned by Sergei Diaghilev of the Ballets Russes. Diaghilev commissioned three further ballets from Prokofiev – Chout, Le pas d'acier and The Prodigal Son – which at the time of their original production all caused a sensation among both critics and colleagues. Prokofiev's greatest interest, however, was opera, and he composed several works in that genre, including The Gambler and The Fiery Angel. Prokofiev's one operatic success during his lifetime was The Love for Three Oranges, composed for the Chicago Opera and subsequently performed over the following decade in Europe and Russia.

After the Revolution, Prokofiev left Russia with the official blessing of the Soviet minister Anatoly Lunacharsky, and resided in the United States, then Germany, then Paris, making his living as a composer, pianist and conductor. During that time he married a Spanish singer, Carolina Codina, with whom he had two sons. In the early 1930s, the Great Depression diminished opportunities for Prokofiev's ballets and operas to be staged in America and western Europe. Prokofiev, who regarded himself as composer foremost, resented the time taken by touring as a pianist, and increasingly turned to Soviet Russia for commissions of new music; in 1936 he finally returned to his homeland with his family. He enjoyed some success there – notably with Lieutenant Kijé, Peter and the Wolf, Romeo and Juliet, and perhaps above all with Alexander Nevsky.

The Nazi invasion of the USSR spurred him to compose his most ambitious work, an operatic version of Leo Tolstoy's War and Peace. In 1948 Prokofiev was attacked for producing "anti-democratic formalism." Nevertheless, he enjoyed personal and artistic support from a new generation of Russian performers, notably Sviatoslav Richter and Mstislav Rostropovich: he wrote his ninth piano sonata for the former and his Symphony-Concerto for the latter.

52 product(s) found in Prokofiev, Sergei
View: Tiles List List
 Item No.TitleUnit price
HL50600877 March, Op. 99
Concert Band | Sergei Prokofiev | G. Schirmer | Concert Band | Set
€ 74,20
MUZEM028 Peter And The Wolf
Chamber Ensemble | Sergei Prokofiev | Muzika Publisher | Flexible Instrumentation | Set
€ 31,75
HL50486308 Peter And The Wolf
Concert Band | Standard US Set (without European suppl. parts) | Sergei Prokofiev | G. Schirmer | Concert Band and Opt Narrator | Set
€ 87,20
MUZEM089 Kije's Wedding
Wind Ensemble | Sergei Prokofiev | Muzika Publisher | Variable Wind Ensemble | Set
€ 26,95
TIE250900 Peter And The Wolf
Concert Band | Sergei Prokofiev | Tierolff Muziekcentrale | Concert Band/Harmonie | Set
€ 262,44
SOLDES085 Historiette
Wind Ensemble | 2 Flutes, Hautbois, 2 Clarinettes, Cor, Sax Tenor et Baryton | Sergei Prokofiev | Editions Soldano | Wind Ensemble | Set
€ 16,30
MOL012124100 Romeo and Juliet
Concert Band | Sergei Prokofiev | Molenaar Edition | Concert Band/Harmonie | Set
€ 265,31
MOL011897060 Deux Marches Opus 69
Concert Band | Sergei Prokofiev | Molenaar Edition | Concert Band | Set
€ 106,91
MAWETM2083 Romeo und Julia
Orchestra | Große Suite mit Erzählung | Sergei Prokofiev | Musikverlag Andrea Wiegand | Orchestra | Set
€ 162,50
HL40001032 Midnight Sleighride
Concert Band | Sergei Prokofiev | Arrangers' Publishing Company | Concert Band | Set
€ 87,20
DIF17531 Montagues & Capulets
Brass Band | Sergei Prokofiev | Difem Publisher | Brass Band | Set
€ 80,60
BWPEB010 Romeo and Juliet
Brass Ensemble | Sergei Prokofiev | Brass Wind Publications | Orchestral | Set
€ 124,40
AOSBBBE170901 Romeo and Juliet Suite
Brass Ensemble | Sergei Prokofiev | Art of Sound Music | Brass Ensemble | Set
€ 189,70
WKY0046 Peter and the Wolf [Pierino ed il Lupo]
Concert Band | Sergei Prokofiev | Wicky Music | Narrator and Wind Orchestra | Set
€ 235,90
TRNCBFAI1 Fairy Tale and March
Concert Band | Sergei Prokofiev | TRN Music | Concert Band | Set
€ 69,60
TIEAMEROVERTURE Overture In B-Flat Op. 42
Concert Band | American Overture | Sergei Prokofiev | Tierolff Muziekcentrale | Concert Band/Harmonie | Set
€ 192,95
MOL040139050 Athletic Festival March
Brass Band | Sergei Prokofiev | Molenaar Edition | Brass Band | Set
€ 58,06
MOL021499050 Athletic Festival Marche
Fanfare | Sergei Prokofiev | Molenaar Edition | Fanfare | Set
€ 90,99
MOL011956040 Marsch Zum Schritt
Concert Band | Sergei Prokofiev | Molenaar Edition | Concert Band | Set
€ 72,25
MOL011499050 Athletic Festival Marche
Concert Band | Sergei Prokofiev | Molenaar Edition | Concert Band | Set
€ 90,99
KEN17015 Troika
Woodwind Ensemble | Sergei Prokofiev | Kendor Music | Woodwind Quintet | Set
€ 16,40
KEN09926 Troika (from Lt. Kije)
Orchestra | Sergei Prokofiev | Kendor Music | String Orchestra with opt. piano, harp and percussion | Set
€ 65,80
HL00294822 Dance of the Knights from Romeo and Juliet
Concert Band | Sergei Prokofiev | Southern Music Company | Symphonic Wind Band | Set
€ 117,80
HFB155 Lieutenant Kiljé
Concert Band | Sergei Prokofiev | HAFABRA Music | Concert Band | Set
€ 291,10
EMR9743 Romeo And Juliet
Brass Band | Sergei Prokofiev | Editions Marc Reift | Brass Band | Set
€ 128,00
Do not delete this link