Advanced Search ›
My Account
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link


Item No. SAX051
Composed by – written by Maurice Ravel
Arranger: Nigel Wood
0 reviews
Write a review
Saxophone Quartet [SATB]. product type Set. A product from Saxtet Publications
Ravel was a progressive orchestrator, and included parts for sopranino, soprano and tenor sax in his original score. (The sopranino part is often transcribed for soprano nowadays.) This arrangement takes Ravel's vision to its logical conclusion (or so saxophonists would argue) and allocates the rest of the orchestra to the remainder of the sax family, with tenors performing a vital role as side drum substitutes. Commissioned by Ida Rubinstein, the choreographed 1928 premiere saw her take the role of the table-top gipsy dancer who gradually captivates four men with her mesmerizing display. The first concert performance took place in 1930, but the lure of the obsessive Bolero rhythm still holds sway (as Torville and Dean can attest), and players should always aim for a sense of theatre in their performances.
Product DetailsReviews (0)
Composer: Maurice Ravel
Arranger: Nigel Wood
Brand/Publisher: Saxtet Publications
Instrumentation: Saxophone Quartet [SATB]
Product Type: Set
Duration: 0:03:30
ISMN: 9790570520510
Edition Number: SAX051
Do not delete this link
€ 24,10
On Order Usually ships in 5 days